Heart Chakra

The heart chakra (Anahata), is the transformation between the physical chakras, root, sacral, solar plexus and the upper spiritual chakras of throat, brow and crown.

The heart chakra is responsible for life, balance and harmony. When we find balance, harmony will be restored and any emotional pain that we have held on to for too long, will be dissolved.

It is located in the middle of your chest area and common ailments are those relating to your heart, lungs, arms and hands.

Heart chakra and associated crystal gemstones
Heart chakra and associated crystal gemstones

What’s the purpose of the heart chakra?

The purpose of the heart chakra is to give and receive life and it needs to be in balance at all times so as not to suffer from emotional states such as bitterness, jealousy, loneliness and poor body image to name but a few.

Holding onto such negativity can lead to emotional pain and affect our health causing dis-ease that could lead to conditions associated with the heart, lungs and the immune system. When we don’t manage our stress and anxieties, we hold onto negative energy created from our continual over thinking. Over time, this can tighten our diaphragm that causes shallow breathing.

When in balance, we don’t need to be judgemental and hold those negative thoughts that cause pain as we will leave that type of judgement to the universe.

We need to concentrate on giving and receiving love, love ourselves just as much as we love every other living thing around us. To give love without expecting anything in return is unconditional love. When the heart chakra is not in balance, the Solar Plexus chakra is where you can feel this negativity as it can affect your personal power.

Love is all around us and is there for the taking as we need to love ourselves. It shouldn’t be difficult to accept this statement and to tell ourselves each day how much we LOVE LIFE and that we know our place here on Earth. Of course, balance is the keyword associated with the heart as we don’t want to become egotistical.

The heart provides energy for our body and we obtain the energy from our breath, known as prana. The heart then beats this energy throughout our body giving us the life-force that we need to survive, hence why breathing exercises are important.

By regulating your breathing correctly, you can calm yourself down and can be used to stop the onset of panic attacks. For further information on this, read my A – Z of Meditation and Mindfulness – Breathe that contains some exercises to help.

The heart chakra is symbolised by two interlaced triangles that looks like a star and this symbol represents the energy sources from the Earth through our root chakra and from the universe through our crown chakra. The heart chakra balances these energies to provide our transformation from embodiment to enlightenment.

Heart chakra affirmation

Each morning, your heart chakra affirmation should be, ‘I LOVE unconditionally!’

What’s the colour of the heart chakra?

The colour of the heart chakra is associated with green that is associated with healing and growth.

What element is associated with the heart chakra?

Air is the element associated with the heart chakra.

Common phrases associated with the heart chakra

Below is a list of the most common phrases associated with the heart chakra.

  • I love you with all of my heart (unconditional love)
  • Cross my heart and hope to die (said as a strong promise or oath)
  • From the heart (sincerity)
  • Broken-hearted (emotional pain)
  • Love is all around us (feeling the love)
  • Wears their heart on their sleeve (showing their emotions)
  • Heart sinks or a closed heart (becomes discouraged)
  • A bleeding heart (sympathy)
  • Heart of hearts (desire)

Crystal gemstones for the heart chakra

The most common colour associated with the heart chakra is green. Lots of people also associate the colour of pink with the heart, therefore green and pink crystal gemstones are most persons first choice.

Beautiful Ruby in Fuchsite with Rhodonite, .925 silver and Swarovski is available now.
It's been designed especially for Leo's or those who have a broken heart.
Beautiful Ruby in Fuchsite with Rhodonite, .925 silver and Swarovski is available now.
It’s been designed especially for Leo’s or those who have a broken heart.
Heart Healing Bracelet
Ruby with Fuchsite, Rhodonite, Swarovski Crystal and .925 silver beads GAT068
£30.00 GBP

Gemstone Healing Colour Wheel

Below you will find the Gemstone Healing colour wheel that I created to show the alternative colour to your chosen one. If you’re working on balancing the heart chakra, it could be worth trying two colours such as green and pink of which both are contained within: –

  • Unakite
  • Fuchsite with Ruby
  • Watermelon Tourmaline

It really is down to what feels right for you, so please trust your intuition!

How can I choose the right coloured crystal?

Sit quietly with a crystal gemstone in your left hand as this is your receptive hand and meditate for a few minutes making a mental note of how this gemstone makes you feel. Next repeat the process with the alternative colour and you will decide on what feels best.

Colour wheel with associated planets and elements from Gemstone Healing
Colour wheel with associated planets and elements from Gemstone Healing

Gemstones for balancing the heart chakra

Gemstones of a pale colour or tint provide positive healing energy due to the amount of white found in them. The colour white is an overall cleanser and contains every colour of the spectrum. It is also associated with purity of spirit, hence why paler colours are stronger for healing.

Below is an example of common green crystal gemstones for balancing the heart chakra: –

  • Light green Aventurine
  • Tree Agate
  • Amazonite
  • Fuchsite
  • Light Chrysoprase

Below is an example of common pink crystal gemstones for balancing the heart chakra starting with the most popular gemstone for love, Rose Quartz: –

  • Rose Quartz
  • Pink Mangano
  • Strawberry Quartz
  • Ruby (milky shades)
  • Rhodonite
  • Pink Opal
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Pale Morganite

Heart Chakra gemstones to input missing qualities

The heart crystal gemstones I’ve listed below are the stronger and darker shades of green.

If you’re drawn to strong shades, perhaps you’re missing some of the properties these green crystal gemstones can provide. For example, if you have a strong feeling to start again, whether it’s a project, career, new home, new love, growing plants, whatever it might be that requires growth, use a green gemstone.

Common green gemstones to look out for: –

  • Green Quartz
  • Green Calcite
  • Green Fluorite
  • Green Tourmaline
  • Jade
  • Green Aventurine dark
  • Moss Green Agate
  • Emerald
  • Malachite
  • Green Garnet
  • Peridot
  • Green Sapphire

Common pink gemstones to look out for: –

  • Ruby
  • Pink Garnet
  • Pink Tourmaline
  • Pink Sapphire
  • Rose coloured Morganite

Heart chakra associations

  • Body – Breath
  • Mind – Balance
  • Spirit – Transformation
  • Glands – Thymus
  • Zodiac – Leo and Libra

Chakras are energy centres within our bodies and we have seven major chakras positioned along our spine, each with their own vibrational frequencies. These chakras influence our emotional, spiritual and physical health and when balanced, healing energy from the cosmic universe can run through freely to provide optimum health. Click on the Chakra Index link to read about other chakras.

Comments are closed.